My Little Brother’s Mission


My little brother Emmett was recently denied his wish to serve a 2-year mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (the Mormon Church), because he revealed that he could not teach that gay marriage was wrong or that gay people or relationships were any different than heterosexual ones in the eyes of God. Now that he has finally told his story (and has given his permission) I would like say something too.

Many people are familiar with how central a mission is to the lives of young Mormon men, as well as how much of a sacrifice of time and energy they are. I served one in the 1990s at the age of 19 to Atlanta as did my older brother to South Africa, and even our father served one in the 1960s to Argentina. After his whole life of wanting to follow in our footsteps and earnestly planning to do so, my brother began the application process this past year. And since he knew it could be a sticking point, he felt he should mention that he could only go if they knew he supported the rights of gay and lesbian couples to marry and that in fact he felt that there was actually nothing wrong with being gay at all.

His statement caused some muted tremors, and after traveling up and down the hierarchy the answer came back clear. Even though he himself was heterosexual and was keeping all church standards, and was a profoundly sensitive, caring, socially conscientious, scripturally knowledgeable, spiritual person, the answer was no, he could not serve a mission. He was told that he needed to fast and pray until God told him he was mistaken. Instead of causing a big scene Emmett in characteristic form quietly accepted the answer and began looking for a new direction in life.

I am not writing this to express shock or outrage in the behavior of the Mormon leadership, because frankly there is nothing particularly shocking about it. The church, in many ways a wonderful institution, is very clear about its positions on the heterosexual standard and gay and lesbian issues, and is extremely clear about the consequences of not supporting the positions of church leaders. And it has every right to set these standards. The shocking behavior is rather that a young, believing, heterosexual member of the church would behave in the way my brother did. The outrage is that a sincere member with nothing ‘personal’ on the line would form these opinions and be willing to sacrifice their mission rather than change them. That a young man would feel more loyalty in his heart to how he felt about love and fairness and equality than to what his church leadership was saying about it.

For me, and many other gay Mormons who sincerely wanted to stay in the community and who asked that the church alter or adapt their positions on sexual orientation, we were told that we were only looking for ways to justify our sinful desires. But what will happen when heterosexual members of the church in good standing, start seeking the same changes? What will happen when the sea change that is happening across the western world creates a social landscape where more and more regular Mormons tend to believe that gay and lesbian people are just normal people who are actually being discriminated against? I believe my relatively shy but incredibly brave little brother is at the forefront of this phenomenon.

When I first found out it was happening I contacted him and told him to please not to do it for us, meaning me and my sister Alicia who is also gay. Our youngest siblings Emmett and Molly have grown up their whole lives knowing us as such, and have met our girlfriends and boyfriends and have seen our parents treat us and our relationships with dignity and complete acceptance. Not wanting him to miss out on something I knew he cared deeply about I told Emmett that I would totally understand if he wanted to serve a mission. That I would not take his modifying his statements as a condemnation of me or gay people in any way. He answered that though of course he was impacted by our experience he was not doing it for us, that he had to do it for himself, and because it was the right thing to do.

Even though I left for my first year at Brigham Young University before he was born it was always obvious to me that Emmett was a quiet, thoughtful, and independent person. In the last 3 or 4 years however he has grown into an unusually expressive and intelligent man who is very conscientious and concerned with equality, the feelings of others, and those who are outcast or in need, and the true nature of spirituality. I am deeply struck by his quiet, unshowy courage in this intimidating situation, and for his commitment to standing up for his moral convictions. As a gay person I am very touched by these actions, but as a brother I am deeply proud.

No matter what Emmett decides to do in life I want him to know that I am deeply impressed with his sense of self, the beauty of his soul, and have an incredible amount of faith in his ability to follow his inner instincts. I also want him to know he has family and people who love and support him, and accept him no matter who he is or what he wants to do in life, simple or grand, conventional or unusual. And I want him to know that he has not lost out on his mission. Standing up for equality and acceptance, and caring about misfits and those who are vulnerable in society, is a very old Christian principle, and the world is constantly in need of those who possess these traits. Also, absorbing the deeper teachings of spirituality have often put sincere believers at odds with the organizations they learned those teachings in, which at times are unfortunately more interested in their own traditions and pride, than in the heart of their own message. Emmett I love you very much, am inspired by you, and am very proud of you my brother, and your mission.

emmett

47 thoughts on “My Little Brother’s Mission

  1. As I see more and more young people follow blindly – not question authority etc. I am truly impressed by your brother for the courage to follow his own path. Your family is made up of some really unique cool people who make this world a better more interesting place. I appreciate your writing and sharing Sam. Truly.

  2. Emmett has such a wonderful strong family support unit and that’s all that matters. What a blessed and socially mature way to go into this ever changing world we enjoy together.

  3. That’s quite the family you have there Mr. Clayton! I was blessed with a pretty great family myself but it’s always inspiring to read about others.

  4. Emmett is an amazing young man with a bight future ahead of him. I have had the honor of being around him and feeling of his tremendous sprite and that is how I feel, honored! I am glad he stayed true to himself that will serve him and his future family well in the future. God bless you Emmett never change.

  5. That kind of integrity is rare and I really admire his forthrightness and honesty. And if I’m really honest, I’m glad someone so empathetic and genuine isn’t going to spend two years of his life promoting a Church that treats people the way it does. I suspect he will now put that two years to much better use.

  6. Thank u Emmett for beig who u are!..I am gay and went on a mission in the 80s..The only way I made it through is by supressing those feelings,,I had not come out..U r an inpiration to others that we all are equal in Gods Eyes,,Thank u for making it aware to church leader..I no longer am a member of the church..I had my name removed from church records..I told my bishop I was gay,,He said I would not receive Gods blessing!

  7. When I went on my mission in Germany in the 90s, I barely had any consciousness about homosexuality, except that a question about it was asked prior to baptism, requiring the prospective member be interviewed about it with a Bishop if there was any possibility that they had engaged in same-sex acts in the past. I left the Church since then, in about 2003, but not over this issue. It’s fascinating to see the discussion about this issue unfold in the Church. I don’t think a lot of people looking from the outside-in understand just what a big issue serving a mission is to faithful LDS. Being “worthy” to serve a mission, get a temple recommend, hold a calling, etc… is central to the LDS religious experience. I would not be surprised if the Church soon asks explicitly about support of same-sex marriage or equal rights for GLBTQ community as a worthiness issue in the temple recommend interview. They already ask, “Do you support, affiliate with, or agree with any group or individual whose teachings or practices are contrary to or oppose those accepted by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints?” I could see them getting far more specific on this topic.I could imagine that some Bishops/Stake Presidents may already consider members who support same-sex marriage to be in violation of this, regardless of their self-evaluation.

  8. We have several gay friends, many of whom are married, and have spent much time over the years talking about our hope for eventual change. (Several of those friends are former LDS members, and one in particular has said that he will be the first one back to the LDS church when policies change, as he still has a testimony of the faith.) Now, my son is serving in the Washington State, where marriage equality was recently voted for. He will be a breath of fresh air as he will teach the gospel to ALL, equally, and share his belief that we are all children of God and our sexual “preference” has nothing to do with how much God loves us. I am looking forward to hearing of his adventures. Sad to hear about Emmett’s plight, and wonder if it was local leadership that stopped him. I believe that he will serve a mission in other ways, and hope that he will stay on the course of whatever faith he has rather than let this turn him away from his testimony.

    1. “Now, my son is serving in the Washington State, where marriage equality was recently voted for. He will be a breath of fresh air as he will teach the gospel to ALL, equally, and share his belief that we are all children of God and our sexual “preference” has nothing to do with how much God loves us…”

      God loving them aside, the Church’s doctrine would have those married couples divorce and live celibate. Does he plan not to teach that? Because the LDS church has no respect for legal same-sex marriages. Those people can’t be baptised while married to someone of the same sex.I imagine for most gays and lesbians, whether or not God loves them is irrelevant if ‘God’ wants them to abandon the love they have for their spouse.

  9. Emmett, thank you for standing up for what is right, I also have several gay friends, I also have friends of different skin colors, friends of different beliefs, friends from different countries, I am friends with women who have made unpopular choices with there bodies, see we are all Gods children and deserve the to accepted and loved the same… Thank you.

  10. In the belief that this story deserves as wide an exposure as possible, and having been notified of it via a post on a Facebook group, I have posted a link on my favorite website in the entire civilized world, PostMormon.org.

  11. I’m sorry, but in all respect, I see many red flags in this article. Let me tell you one: There is a huge difference between allowing and being in favor of gay marriage which is fine and he would of been allowed to go on a mission-no prob-then believing that homosexuality is not a sin and that homosexual relationships were fine and no different “in the eyes of God.” This is definitely wrong. Homosexuality will always be a sin. It doesn’t matter were social norms go even in the Church. This is doctrine.

    This is why your brother was told not to go on a mission.

    1. It’s also why he’s better off not on a mission. Because that doctrine is false. It denies reality and it places a negative moral value on something that just happens one way or the other in the womb. Homosexuality is no more wrong that heterosexuality is right – neither is a choice. They have no more moral value than hair colour.

      And bear in mind, Diego. There are a lot of things that WERE doctrine that aren’t now. ‘God’ really ISN’T the same yesterday, today and forever. He never had been. Just read the scriptures and be honest with yourself about how much he, and his doctrines, have changed. The truth is that doctrines have ALWAYS changed with social norms. It’s the ONLY way they’ve changed.

      1. Debbie I am sorry that was meant for Diego and I am already regretting posting that. I am a sister and it always stings when someone thinks it is appropriate to tell me I am going to hell and so are my family members. Still stings a bit.

      2. No sweat. 🙂 And that’s something that SHOULD sting. I worried for years as a teenager what would happen to my family because my dad didn’t have the priesthood. In hindsight that was an anxiety I shouldn’t have had to deal with. So glad that kind of thinking is behind me now.

  12. So sad that he won’t get a chance to share his testimony of Christ. The missions core purpose is to share Christ’s message. “And we talk of Christ, we rejoice in Christ, we preach of Christ, we prophesy of Christ, and we write according to our prophecies, that our children may know to what source they may look for a remission of their sins.
    Wherefore, we speak concerning the law that our children may know the deadness of the law; and they, by knowing the deadness of the law, may look forward unto that life which is in Christ, and know for what end the law was given. And after the law is fulfilled in Christ, that they need not harden their hearts against him when the law ought to be done away.
    And now behold, my people, ye are a stiffnecked people; wherefore, I have spoken plainly unto you, that ye cannot misunderstand. And the words which I have spoken shall stand as a testimony against you; for they are sufficient to teach any man the right way; for the right way is to believe in Christ and deny him not; for by denying him ye also deny the prophets and the law.”

  13. Wow – beautiful. Though culturally many LDS would insinuate or overtly state their ideas on young men serving a mission being ‘the most important thing they can do’, I think your brother is indeed doing something even more important.
    “He was told that he needed to fast and pray until God told him he was mistaken.” Because the Church could never be wrong, or need to change – just the member that’s not falling into line….. Just look at the recent scripture changes – I’m sure those were all just grammar and punctuation……….. (BoA, polygamy)

  14. Well, here is a thing. Emmett’s rather telling reference to coming from a family of misfits and revolutionaries immediately for me recalled the first followers of Jesus. There is so much I could say, and perhaps sometime will, but my priority now is to salute Emmett’s moral courage and spiritual integrity. Still standing myself within the Catholic tradition I am conscious of citizenship of no mean city, yet one awash, in the words of Pope Benedict himself, with filth. Very significant that in the ancient Roman liturgy the first reading for today, the beginning of Passiontide, comes from Daniel 13, the story of a young girl’s integrity wrongly impugned by dirty minded old men, but defended by the Lord “roused by the holy spirit residing in a young boy named Daniel” ( Dan. 13: 45 ). LGBT people are the latest targets in organized religion’s endemic need to scapegoat: they did it to Jesus too. Read Rene Giraud on this, who has been enormously influential. Personally I still stand within my own faith community because of its natural preference for the outsider. This is a fact which the institution tries to cover up, so, in Jesus’s own words, it lays heavy burdens on people they do not bear themselves. Actually statistically American Catholics are more likely to support a whole raft of socially progressive causes including gay rights than the main stream, so go figure next time your local bishop is urging you to oppose them. It is great that straight Mormons marched with their gay brothers and sisters in San Francisco last year. Emmett, brave young man, you are as great a prophet in your own country as your brother Sam, whom I have the honour to call my dear friend. Strength to your efforts. Will this do for now?

  15. There was a lady in the Mormons for Obama group last year who was denied her temple recommend because she supported Obama and gay marriage. SLC clamped down on that bishop pretty quick and she got her recommend. No such luck for your brother though. Interesting to get such a clear view of exactly where the fault lines lie.

  16. I’d like to shake your brother’s hand. Really cool guy to do that. I grew up LDS and know how integral a mission is to a boy’s life. He did the right thing, and as someone suggested, he is now serving a different kind of mission….a much more important one. I hope this story gets out. I do have one lingering question – given your brother’s views on equality, how does he reconcile that while wishing to remain an active LDS member? In any case, bravo to your brother!!

  17. This story has to be one of the most important to us! It takes guts to do this and we all know it. We all know the years of pain and what it does to our lives. I don’t know if I would ask someone to go through it, but it is what we need. If I could say one thing it would be thanks and in years to come, he will understand the magnitude of what he has done. His belief in his brother will do more than most people could ever know. You can not put it into words. Lets just say that we all long for that kind of acceptance. Not just with the Church, but with all the people we love!

  18. Thanks for posting this. Emmett is a wonderful person although I know this has been hard. As open as a family that we are he is a quiet one. I hadn’t been on the computer for a few days on got on late last night and read this. Officially I was the first to come out in the family and had a very rough time with it. The whole try real hard and change your mind tactic is naive and deadly…. condemning as is the rhetoric of I am a bad person and a sinner. Emmett is growing into a lovely man I respect and am touched by.

  19. That is amazing! Good for him and this was written beautifully. Thank you so much for sharing and your brother for doing what he did…be himself and stand up for what is right. Also, a big thanks to your parents, other family, and siblings who are obviously a very loving and understanding group.

  20. Beautiful thing, what your brother has done. I’m inspired and moved; and hopeful about the future. Thank you for sharing.

  21. I don’t understand the dilemma in this. He doesn’t meet the church’s standard for missionaries. Plain and Simple. Don’t believe me? Get a temple recommend interview. You don’t become a saint for standing against and unchangeable God, and his church.

  22. Have there been any updates to this story in the last six months? Was Emmitt ever approved to go on a mission or get a temple recommend?

Leave a comment